radians to degreees ..

ZX80, ZX 81, ZX Spectrum, TS2068 and other clones
Bolador

radians to degreees ..

Post by Bolador »

well I am relatively new to C, Z88dk and trigonometry, but as I may have some kind of pleasure in suffering I decided to develop something using all three of them.. just to keep my mind doing something besides the daily work..
I could make my first C codes and successfully compile them (not without some forum help).. but results were not the expected (as expected:D)..
then I discovered thad results of simple sin() and cos() functions are given in radians :|.. (I wonder why in first place someone invented that radian thing :rolleyes:).. that would be easy to convert them but adding a multiplication and a division to every function in the loop will kill the already slow performance..
is there any way to tell the thing to calculate in degrees? how will compiler take that in speed terms.. I am thinking of using a look up table for speed purposes in the future but need to develop it easy at first.. I am slow coding, taking it easy,, having fun.. (I am kind of stressing myself now :lol:
thanks!!
Timmy
Well known member

Post by Timmy »

Bolador wrote:then I discovered thad results of simple sin() and cos() functions are given in radians :|.. (I wonder why in first place someone invented that radian thing :rolleyes:).. that would be easy to convert them but adding a multiplication and a division to every function in the loop will kill the already slow performance..
Yes, it's clear to me you are new to trigonometry. The results of simple sin() and cos() are not in radians; it's the inputs for those functions that are in radians. The outputs of the functions are between -1 and 1.